About Time

Yesterday was a good day. We’re about a week into a rushed preproduction, our A&E show got a green light, bought my plane tickets for Christmas, and I got dragged into a double date to see About Time. Yeah…I wasn’t excited about seeing Rachel McAdams in her THIRD movie being the wife of a time traveler. What is going on with her career? I’m not sure any other actress has ever been type casted for romantic time traveling before! WHY AM I SO FRUSTRATED WITH THIS?!

About TimeI’ve seen the trailer. Bill Nighy always get’s me mildly hooked. Rachel McAdams I’m on the fence about. Last time I watched her, Woody Allen tickled my brain with Midnight in Paris. So I suppose my taste buds for her are on the greener side of the fence…for now. (DUN DUN DUUUUNNNN!)  Wait! Time travel is in this movie! I love time travel! Okay, okay! I’ll go…but I’m expecting a predictable waste of time.

About TimeI remember sitting in the theater hating the movie. I mean really hating it. The rules of time travel were completely ignored. Completely…ignored. And then the trailer made me think the entire movie was about Domhnall Gleeson meeting his true love Rachel McAdams. It’ll probably end with a wedding. Boom. Done deal chick flick. But no! It’s much more indie meets biopic. Richard Curtis is the brains behind this movie. Half of is his career is writing for Rowan Atkinson and the other half is writing Notting Hill and Bridget Jones’s Diary. I love Rowan Atkinson and Mr. Bean, but love and romance movies with Renée Zellweger? I’d rather stab myself in the eye with…well, Renée Zellweger. But let’s not get ahead of ourselves! He has one saving grace in my book. He wrote and directed Love Actually

About TimeTo my delightful surprise, this Weasley boy really just takes us through some years of his life trying to make everyone happy. The plot is…not really a plot but there’s plenty of great character moments. Reportedly, Richard Curtis doesn’t plan on directing again. I can’t say that we’ve lost something detrimental to the filming world there…his talent is easily seen on paper. In candle light. With a feather quill and an ink jar. While wearing pantaloons.

Overall, I was pleasantly surprised with About Time…as long as I ignored my love of time travel and any set of rules for this movie’s universe. Seriously, the time travel was lame. Like a retarded duck. But on the surface it’s still a duck. And if you don’t dig too deep, you’ll still enjoy feeding it stale bread.

Leave a Reply

