It’s Kind of a Funny Story

It’s also kind of a good movie.

Some over achieving brainy pants kid gets over stressed and thinks about committing suicide. Sure, serious subject. Then he asks to be admitted to an adult mental ward and if you’ve seen any mental hospital movie ever (Girl, Interrupted or One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest) you’ll see a lot of character growth and realization coming. Whoopdeedoo.

It’s basically a coming of age tell over a 5 day period. The main character? Forgettable. Emma Roberts? The girl next door who cuts herself. (Who happens to always have her hair done while living in a hospital?) The quirky patients? A pleasant surprise, as always. But the real gem in this movie? Zach Galifianakery. Err, Zach Galifininny. Wait, Zach Gallopingkiss? I’ll get it.

As far as independent movies go, this one is charming enough. The story telling is a little narrated, a little wacky (on purpose of course, you know…to seem more “indie”), and a little predictable. Nope, I promised myself I wouldn’t lie to you guys. It’s A LOT predictable. But I stand by my theory that comedians can make some of the best dramatic actors. Robin Williams, Jim Carrey, Bill Murray, Steve Carell, Will Ferrell, and now Zach Gallactikiss.

Even the title of the movie pisses me off. It’s memorable enough but it’s just like Happythankyoumoreplease, you hate the fact that they did that to you. It’s Kind of a Funny Story? Really? How about It’s Kind of a ClichĂ© Yet Annoying Warming Story and You’ll Hate Us for Every Minute You Happen to Enjoy. Yeah, way more accurate. It’s probably not a good thing to piss off your audience before they even decide to watch your movie. Kind of like how they have to remove Michael Bay or M. Night Shyamalan’s name from any movie they’re apart of. (They don’t really remove Bay’s, he’s strictly a box office gold mine. But I hate him regardless.)

Back to the gem, Zach Galifianakis (I GOT IT!) is the only thing making me like this movie. You don’t realize how capable he is of wearing so many hats. (Metaphorically, I’m certain he can also wear many physical hats.) He wears the wise-man hat, the depressed hat, the victim hat, the halftime encouraging speech hat, the absolutely out of his mind hat, and the subtle dramatic actor hat. And you know what they say about men who wear lots of hats…(I honestly don’t know, I was hoping you could finish that sentence for me.) Is it like women and their shelves of shoes? Does Zach stand in his walk-in closet trying to decided which one to wear? “Um, I think I’ll wear the actor on-the-rise hat or my name isn’t Zach Gallifinland!” (DANGIT!)

One response to “It’s Kind of a Funny Story

Leave a Reply

