The Best “Best Picture” winners since I’ve been born

It’s Oscar Sunday tomorrow and in the spirit of the end of another Oscar season here is my list of my favorite best picture winners since I’ve been born.

By no means do I consider these the “best” movies from their respective years (ex. Shakespeare in Love winning in 1999 over Saving Private Ryan) for the most part. But these are the movies that won and will always be known as a best picture winner (by the way Citizen Kane didn’t even win best). So we’re pretty much stuck with some of them (Chicago), so here is my list of my favorite best picture winners since I’ve been alive. And let me also say that it is not an easy task to compare movies from within the same year much less twenty years.

I only wanted to list the best picture winners from when I was born because ranking all of them would be boring and lame. This is only ¼ lame (.253 to be exact) compared to ranking all of them.

21. Chicago (2002) Maybe I should sit down soon and give this one another try…..

 

 

 

 

 

 

20. Shakespeare in Love (1999) How did this beat Saving Private Ryan? I guess the Oscar voters didn’t like a film about the war they lived through, they like a story that takes place when their parents grew up

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

19. A Beautiful Mind (2001) You’re not seeing things this film is really at 19

 

 

 

 

 

 

18. Gladiator (2000) Russell Crowe’s appearances on my list are back-to-back fittingly

 

 

 

 

 

 

17. Titanic (1997) This was the first movie I ever saw a boob in. And apparently it’s “the world’s most beloved and acclaimed film”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

16. Million Dollar Baby (2004) Clint Eastwood could have trained Hilary Swank how to sew and it would have been badass

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

15. Dances with Wolves (1990) Kevin Costner took time off from doing baseball movies to go this one. Spoiler alert the wolf never dances.

 

 

 

 

 

 

14. Braveheart (1995) Mel Gibson gives us the freedom (wink) to be entertained by this story of a man wearing a skirt and makeup

 

 

 

 

 

 

13. The Hurt Locker (2008) Isn’t it weird how this film was released in 2008 but won the Oscar in 2010?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

12. The English Patient (1996) The first thing I ever think about when I hear somebody mention this film is Elaine on Seinfeld. And why didn’t they just put the guy out of his misery if he was burned that badly? Put a pillow over his head or something

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

11. Slumdog Millionaire (2008) Try watching a new episode of “Who Wants to be a Millionaire” during day-time television and you will be utterly confused

 

 

 

 

 

 

10. Crash (2004) There was more than one crash in this movie, it should have been called “Crashes”

 

 

 

 

 

 

9. Unforgiven (1992) There has been one good western made since I’ve been born. This is it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8. Schindlers List (1993) Seinfeld almost ruined this one for me also, all I think about is Jerry making out during the entire movie and Newman telling on him

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7. The Departed (2006) Second best gangster movie made since I’ve been born (Goodfellas….obviously)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6. The Kings Speech (2010) I……….liked……….The Social……. Network………………more

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5. Forest Gump (1994) You could argue this was the third best film of 1994 (Pulp Fiction or The Shawshank Redemption take your pick) this is probably the best year for quality movies since my date of birth

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4. Silence of the Lambs (1991) Most of Anthony Hopkins screen time during this film can be seen on the two minute trailer

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3. No Country for Old Men (2007) It was a flip of the coin between this and Silence of the Lambs

 

 

 

 

 

 

2. Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King (2003) I couldn’t put the third part of a trilogy as the best film on the list. Maybe if I considered all of the Lord of the Rings as one film I could have, but I can’t consider that one movie if the combined running time is longer than the amount of sleep I get every night.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1. American Beauty (1999) No I didn’t forget about this film and just stick it at the bottom. I could have put any film here and somebody would have hated my choice. Kevin Spacey is pure greatness in this one. Guns are not toys.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

There are 21 movies on this list. You can do the math to figure out how old I am but I didn’t want to give my date-of-birth that’s creepy.

Leave a Reply

