Hot Fuzz

Afraid of the bobbies? No, well (insert deep raspy voice) you should be.

Buddy cop movies, what a wondrous genre. There are so many of them I’ve lost count. (I never actually tried. I’m just assuming failure. Saves time. Now I can focus on completing my Beanie Babies collection.) But one thing stands true, buddy cop movies are pretty restricted to good ol’ US-of-A. So when Edgar Wright and Simon Pegg sat down and wrote Hot Fuzz, the british police force…sorry, police service regained some badass appeal. Impossible you say?!? Yeah, I did too.

But oohhh no. Hot Fuzz brought the goods. (And by goods I mean a good standing on morality and governing law, not drugs. Come on! They’re the police!) However I will say that their little corrupt town brought in some 007 acting. No, not Daniel Craig. No, not Sean Connery. No, not Roger Moore. But the one and only (possibly forgotten) Timothy Dalton! Impressed? Yeah, I wasn’t either. UNTIL I SAW THE MOVIE!

There’s something about the trio of Edgar Wright, Simon Pegg, and Nick Frost that brings a level of fresh genius to the screen. Have you seen Shaun of the Dead? Easily one of the best zombie movies of all time. No exaggeration. (Let’s be honest, I’m not one to exaggerate. Oh crap. I forgot my golden Dots in my hybrid Mustang that gets 100 MPG. Be right back….okay. I’m set.) … (See I don’t exaggerate, I just straight up lie.) I love Shaun of the Dead. How do you think I felt when I watched Hot Fuzz? Let me tell you. I felt complete. The script was brilliant. The action was phenomenal. The cast was hilarious. And there’s plenty of gun fire to get your absurd action movie fix.

I want to take a second to recognize Edgar Wright’s really powerful vision in his movies. His quick editing and almost B-roll shots acting as an easy fast paced transition is really interesting to watch. It might be getting a tad old and you hope to see more or different things from him. But no one else does what he does as well as he does…he doeses well, doesn’t he? (Admit it. You enjoyed reading that to yourself.)

I think I’m going to have to declare this movie as one of the all time best guy movies. Think about it! It has cops! Conspiracies! Crime! Crazy british humor! And other words that I can’t think of right now to continue my alliteration! I might have to officialize this with a Top 5 post…

Leave a Reply

