Groundhog Day

It’s Groundhog Day! It’s Groundhog Day!…………………..

One of my all-time favorite Bill Murray Movies, he is pure greatness in this 1993 comedy. Every Groundhog day no matter how busy I am I try and sit down and watch this, and after every sitting of this movie I always fantasize about what I would do if I was stuck in one town during one day over and over.

Of course Bill Murray’s character Phil Conners does what we would all do, he starts to notice what happens during that day and takes advantage of certain moments when he can. It’s not known how many times Phil Conners lives that day in Punxsutawney but along the journey he does pick up some cool hobbies. Being able to play the piano very well would be a cool trick to figure out if I was stuck in time along with becoming an excellent cook, a good mechanic, and being well read.

The one thing I would be worried about if I was Phil Conners is that after I try killing myself I wouldn’t like the unknown if that was going to be the way out of being trapped in time. The fact that I’m going to learn my bowel movement schedule down to the minute would annoy me. If he was stuck in time over and over again and he was having stomach problems that would drive me insane, so he dodged a bullet there.

What happens to Phil Conners after he gets unstuck from time, does he tell his family and friends what happened? Nobody would actually believe him, he could write a good book over the experience (fiction) and maybe a screenplay. Did he age during this time? There would be some small irony if he was stuck in traffic for a couple hours on the way back to Pittsburg. When I’m having a bad or good day I sometimes laugh to myself at the thought of having a Groundhog Day moment. Just think about that thought the next time you get a promotion or get a flat tire on the way to a job interview.

I once heard an interview on the radio from Stephan Tobolowsky (Ned Ryerson) that they were rewriting the movie as they were shooting, that takes some talent to pull off what they did on the fly. This movie is hard not to like and enjoy. And at least Phil Conners got to keep waking up at a Bed and Breakfast he had a meal prepared for him every morning.

It’s Groundhog Day! It’s Groundhog Day!…………………..

One of my all-time favorite Bill Murray Movies, he is pure greatness in this 1993 comedy. Every Groundhog day no matter how busy I am I try and sit down and watch this, and after every sitting of this movie I always fantasize about what I would do if I was stuck in one town during one day over and over.

(I’m just kidding it’s over now)

Leave a Reply

