Paul

The summer of 2011 brought us another Simon Pegg and Nick Frost wonder. And it’s a requirement to be a nerd to enjoy this one.

So many references to E.T. and Star Wars. That’s right. You heard correctly. Paul brought on the subtle onslaught of Spielberg and George Lucas lovin’. Of course the references didn’t stop there, but those were the highlights. This wondrous film features the above mentioned, Kristen Wiig, Jason Bateman, Jeffrey Tambor, Jane Lynch, David Koechner, Sigourney Weaver, and the obvious Seth Rogen as the voice and character whole of Paul. It’s amazing the pull one star can generate around their own project. All you have to do is sit back and watch the other A-list actors gravitate around them for a feature length time period.

There was a lot of hype built around this movie…by me. I got my own adrenaline pumped for it. And due to financial circumstances I wasn’t able to rape some of the few benefits a Texas summer hands over: Blockbuster Movie Season! So I had to wait. (I HATE THAT WORD!) (I’m extremely patient but that doesn’t mean I can’t hate that word…) Even Netflix told me there was a long wait! But by the grace of God (I know you’re looking out for my blog up there!) Netflix sends that amazing email notifying me of Paul’s future arrival.

There’s not a whole lot I can write about this movie. It may not live to be a classic but by no means should you skip out on this piece of entertainment. It’s definitely one I intend to add to my DVD/Blu-ray collection. But because I’m not always able to go out and buy a $35 movie…I’ll wait for Santa. (Back up! He’s real!)

Leave a Reply

