Twenty years of Silence

Can you believe it’s been 20 years since The Silence of the Lambs went from written to watchable? I will admit creating a “favorite” list of movies is quite difficult for me. There are so many films that can fill the soul with incredible profound thought (LOTR trilogy, The Shawshank Redemption) or others that will keep me laughing in their hundredth viewing (Airplane, Ghostbusters). But I can safely say my #1 slot is The Silence of the Lambs.

I am an aspiring film maker. (Getting a career off the ground is slow going.) And if I were to ever make a thriller/horror, I would love nothing more than to fashion it after the last movie to win the big 5 at the Oscars. I’m tired of scary movies and chase scenes. Like for instance, I enjoyed The Texas Chainsaw Massacre (2003). Based on a true story, it was just a nut swinging some crazy around. But when it got down to Jessica Biel, it was a terribly prolonged chase scene. No thought put into it. Buffalo Bill and (even more so) Dr. Hannibal Lecter never chased their prey. Buffalo Bill lured girls like a Snapping Turtle lures anything hungry for a worm. And Dr. Lecter was more like a Venus Flytrap that could sing like a Siren. I want my future potential audience to watch the credits roll and take a minute to get up from their seat. They should be thought provoked as well as mentally disturbed. Because these were the reactions I had after my first viewing of my long time #1 favorite movie.

In any top movie villain list, Dr. Hannibal Lecter is up there with Darth Vader. And to think, he only has 16 minutes of screen time. Major props to Anthony Hopkins on that. But he doesn’t carry this film on his shoulders. The Silence of the Lambs is one of those films that fell on greatness. And yet it deserves every credit due. I love this movie. And for those of you out there with a weak plush heart that can’t take the jumpy “Boo!” movies, this is more of a mind thriller. However, there are cannibalism scenes. Maybe some disembowelment. And some….well, I won’t ruin everything for you. But I can say it’s gory to the level 1991 would allow. So watch it! After the sun sets! Alone! Naked! (That last one is optional…)

One response to “Twenty years of Silence

Leave a Reply

